The Belsize Park Belle

Want to get that airbrushed look? Then get an airbrush machine!

temptu image

Image by cathy c via Flickr

When it comes to beauty, London has much to offer.  I have spent many an evening perusing the beauty counters at Harvey Nichols, Selfridges, and of course, Boots.  It has almost been enough to satisfy my insane addiction to Sephora, which is sadly missed here.  On my last trip to the US, I had one last beauty purchase splurge there and it has now become something that I cannot live without.  I finally broke down and bought the TEMPTU at-home airbrush machine.  That’s right folks, I airbrush my makeup just about everyday and it is fabulous.  Some of you might say the same that mother has, “You spray paint your face every morning?!”  I guess that you can look at it that way, but not really.

Ok, so here is the lowdown.

So, once I’ve moisturized, I set the machine between the low and medium setting.  It didn’t take me that long to figure out how to use the spray nozzle and it is very easy.  You can use a primer, but I don’t and the foundation formula is quite stay put.  I have never come across makeup before that looks as good as when I first applied it ten hours later.  It really does stay in place all day long.

My skin also has a lot of redness and it usually takes layers of foundation and concealer to cover it up, but TEMPTU covers the redness with very little product being used.

The one area that is quite tricky to apply is around the eyes, especially if you have fine lines in that area.  I’ve found that if I dab a little concealer in that area first, then it is no problem.  Otherwise, it looks almost as if the lines have been enhanced.

The blush is super easy to apply and they have a great selection of sheer colors.  It is very easy to get stronger looking blush, but their sheer effect really does make it look very natural.

The highlighter comes next and isn’t necessary, but it does add just that final touch to the look.  After using it, I feel like I look refreshed and awake even when I’m exhausted or worse, hungover.

My biggest criticism is that the pods don’t last that long and at $55 for two, it can get pricey very quickly.  If you use this everyday, the pod will last at most 4-6 weeks, depending on what type of coverage you use. The fact that everyone has commented on my fabulous glow and amazing skin since I started using this has made it worth my while.  Even my husband noticed something different, and he isn’t usually the type to pick up on those sorts of things (especially since I’m always trying out new products!).

I’m hoping that they will come out with an eyeshadow range next!

Sephora is the exclusive seller in North America and the at-home system is not yet available in Europe.  If you are travelling to the US, this is the perfect holiday splurge.  If not, TEMPTU do sell the machine and products on their website and they will ship to the UK, although their shipping costs run on the high side.

One comment on “Want to get that airbrushed look? Then get an airbrush machine!

  1. lilkunjBigWorld
    December 12, 2011

    Very tempting!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2011 by in Beauty and tagged , , .